The Center for Architecture

536 LaGuardia Place,
NY, NY 10012


facebook instagram

Who Are Stewardson, Keefe, and LeBrun


The Stewardson Keefe Lebrun Travel Grant was established to further the personal and professional development of an architect in early or mid-career through travel focused on a selected topic of individual interest.

Who is James Stewardson
James Stewardson Travelling Fellowship was established in the late 1950s by James Stewardson. James Stewardsons was a citizen of England, who spent most of his professional life in New York City. He was a member of the distinguished firm Delano and Aldrich, which worked in the Beaux-Arts tradition for elite clients throughout New York City and Long Island. The firm Delano and Aldrich designed some of New York City’s more exclusive clubs including the Knickerbocker Club, the Union Club and the Colony Club.

Who is Grace Keefe
The Keefe Fund was established in 1974 to assist deserving American born architectural paraprofessionals.

Who is Pierre L. LeBrun
The LeBrun Travelling Fellowship was established in 1910 by Pierre L. LeBrun. Pierre L. LeBrun was born in 1846, the son of American architect Napoleon Eugene Charles Henry LeBrun, a prominent architect in Pennsylvania. Along with his brother Michel Moracin, Pierre joined his father’s firm N. LeBrun & Sons, the official architects of the New York City Fire Department in the mid to late 19th century. The firm N. LeBrun and Sons also designed some of the earliest skyscrapers including the Metropolitan Life Insurance Building and the Metropolitan Life Tower, for which both Pierre and Michel were awarded the New York Chapter Medal of Honor in 1910. Pierre L. LeBrun was admitted as an associate member of the AIA in 1883 and was made a Fellow in 1889.